Schengen Agreement Passport Expiration

Third-country nationals (who are not covered by any of the exceptions to the temporary restriction of entry on non-essential grounds) who wish to enter the Schengen area are denied entry to the external border crossing point and are is refused entry (with the “I” refusal form, i.e. a danger to public health), as well as a passport cancelled by an indelible cross in black ink and letter I on the right side). [14] If the visitor`s circumstances have not changed, the new ETIAS should be approved within minutes. Applicants must ensure that their current passport is valid for at least 90 days before they are re-applied. The visa exemption for New Zealand nationals also applies to The Cook Islanders, Niueans and Tokelelas, as they also use New Zealand passports. Schengen visas are issued only on travel documents of UN member states, Kosovo, Palestine, Taiwan, Vatican City, the Order of Malta and certain international organisations (Council of Europe, EU, NATO, Red Cross, UN). [107] [108] [109] Belgium and France also accept Somaliland`s passport. [110] Passports from Abkhazia, Artsakh, Northern Cyprus, South Ossetia, Transnistria and Western Sahara are not accepted. [111] Travellers whose ETIAS expired term may renew the online authorization. Applicants should follow the same process and complete the electronic form by providing personal data and passport information. The answer to the question “How long is the ETIAS visa exemption?” depends on the expiry date of the passport.

Nationals of all EU Internal Market Member States who have a valid passport, passport or identity card can enter, reside and work in the other country without a visa. If they are unable to present a valid passport or identity card at the border, they must nevertheless be able to obtain the necessary documents or bring them in within a reasonable time or confirm or prove by other means that they fall within the right to free movement. [7] [8] ETIAS is required for non-visa-free third-country nationals (Annex II), with the exception of European micro-states (Andorra, Monaco, San Marino and Vatican City). ETIAS is also required of family members of EU internal market nationals who do not have a residence card indicating this status. However, family members with such a card, holders of visas, residence permits, small border traffic authorizations, refugees or stateless travel documents issued by a country in the EU internal market, nor crew members or holders of diplomatic or official passports, are not required. However, if one of the passports expires in less than 3 years, it is advisable to use the other travel document to take full advantage of the duration of the ETIAS visa exemption. This means that if the passport expires within three years, a new exemption from the ETIAS visa requirement must be obtained. To reapply, travellers follow the same online procedure by filling out the ETIAS application form and indicating their new passport dates. In the case of bilateral agreements between the EU and a third country, it may be possible for foreign citizens to stay in an EU country beyond the 90-day limit.

This has no bearing on the duration of the ETIAS visa exemption, bilateral agreements between a single Schengen state and the traveller and the non-extension of ETIAS. Australian and New Zealand citizens benefit from a more liberal visa policy, as both governments have signed bilateral visa agreements with individual Schengen countries.