Tripartite Agreement Angola

The Angolan and American governments began bilateral talks in June 1987, as the civil war continued. Historians disagree on how the various parties agreed to approach the table: this is the sixth and final tripartite agreement on Angola`s return to the region, with Botswana, the Democratic Republic of Congo (DRC), Namibia, the Republic of Congo and Zambia signing similar agreements earlier this year. Under the first agreement signed by Angola, Cuba and South Africa, the South African government says it is ready to give up control of Namibia and implement a unseeded independence plan approved a decade ago. But the Angolan official also called for the restoration of normal relations with the United States and said that, as the two countries needed to work together to implement the current agreements, “such cooperation could certainly be facilitated by the normalization of diplomatic relations.” Diplomats say that if the agreements are fully implemented, they will end a 22-year-old armed struggle by the South-West African People`s Organization for independent Namibia, which has led to frequent South African incursions into their bases in southern Angola. It would also end about 13 years of sporadic fighting between South African armed forces and Cuban soldiers sent to drive them away from Angola. The BNA 13/19 Regulation of 2 December 2019 also prohibits the implementation of tripartite agreements between oil companies, commercial banks and contractors who provide goods and services to operators. The tripartite agreements in force on 2 December 2019 cannot be renewed and expire on 31 December 2020. Decision 13/19 repeals decision 7/14 of 8 October 2014. But both governments reserve “the right to amend or amend their obligations under this agreement” “in the event of a flagrant violation of the tripartite agreement.” The agreement followed the proposed US link, which had been promoted several times by South Africa in 1984 and 1986 (UN session). Namibia was to gain independence on the terms set by South Africa, including multi-party democracy, a capitalist free market economy and a transition period.

Nevertheless, the harsh words used today by the foreign ministers of Cuba, Angola and South Africa, as well as by Mr. South Africa.